Skip navigation

Anyone else have a pitmad hangover? =)

Yesterday was pitmad, a fantastic Twitter pitch contest hosted by the wonderful Brenda Drake. Authors got to pitch their books and hope for a “bite” by an agent or editor. I pre-scheduled my pitches since I had to work and lost the ENTIRE morning because I forgot the hashtag *facepalm*. But, I fixed it over the dinner hour and resumed pitching in the afternoon. I wasn’t expecting anything, since it’s going to be an uphill battle to find a home for my book.

But, lo and behold, I got a favorite from an editor. I did a happy dance, squealed a little (thankfully, I was in a sound proof production room at work…) and then took a deep breath. It’s always advisable to research the folks who favorite your work, so in between projects at work, I did just that. This editor was with a press I’ve wanted to work with, so that was already cool. She seemed like a really cool person. So, before I left work, I gave everything a once-over, and submitted.

Now the hard part starts: waiting.

If you didn’t get any favorite in pitmad, don’t despair! Not every agent and editor around was participating. Not all pitches were seen (I heard there upwards of 19,000 pitches before noon!). And some agents/eds don’t take Twitter pitches. You can still query and, if you want it bad enough, you’ll still find a home for your book baby. Don’t give up just because you didn’t get any attention in a Twitter pitch contest.

And if the ones who did favorite you don’t work out, that’s okay, too. Keep trying!

Leave a Reply

