Skip navigation

As I was gearing up to write what might’ve been quite a blow up between my two main characters I started wondering: does anyone else have characters in their head? By that I mean: these two were duking it out in my head for a good day ahead of when I wrote the scene. The scene was a good one, they definitely had a fight, but not the big blow up I was expecting. Now, that could change in revisions. Or it means they got the big nasties over with in my head before I composed their scene.

It sounds crazy to most people who aren’t writers; voices in your head? They put us writers down as crazy, give us strange looks, etc. But when you think about it, we’re not truly crazy are we? There are some of us who simply have this strange bond with these fictional people we’ve created. And those fictional people love to drive us insane at times.

So…any other writers experience this? Or am I truly crazy? 😉

2 Comments

  1. I have to agree. I do find the characters lingering at the back of my mind asking to di this or that. You’re not alone 🙂

  2. Totally not alone! This new project I’m working on is in third person limited, and I have the narrator telling me what to say. I guess I could have consolidated and made it first person, but this seems so much more interesting to me.

    If you like to write, you are weird. Period. But the good kind.


Leave a Reply

