Skip navigation

So, there are a lot of great flash fiction contests out there each week. And I’ve gotten into two of them:

Thursday Threads

and

Menage Monday

Both contests are great for getting a writer out of their usual boxes and making them think about stories they might not have otherwise. Last week, I won an Honorable Mention in Thursday Threads, which thrilled me to no end; I don’t win anything very often. This week, I participated in Menage Monday. I was shocked to wake up this morning and see that I’m taken the title of “Champ” for this week! Here is my winning story:

Looking around, Medusa blinked; the road to nothing seemed to be exactly that. The pieces of tumbleweed rolling lazily across the highway should’ve been a clue, she supposed. Sighing, she pressed the accelerator a little harder; she didn’t want to miss Sunday dinner with her mother.

Naturally, they had cautioned her about taking the back roads. But the interstate was so boring and she liked the scenic route. This time, the scenic route was less scene and more ‘I’m going to be late’. Her ringing phone emphasized this point; it was her mother.

“Hey mom. Yes, I know, I’m late. No, I’m not lost. Yes, I love you, too.”

Hanging up, she smiled, hurrying around the curve and finally saw the sights of home in the distance.

“Shit.” Looking in her rearview mirror, she spotted a state patrolman and pulled over. She started thinking of her defense, then smiled. Straightening the snakes she called hair, she put on her most charming smile and rolled down her window.

“Hell—“ thunk. The officer fell, completely turned to stone. Smiling, Medusa rolled up her window and continued home; that was the fifth speeding ticket she’d gotten out of this week.

199 Words

(c) Aightball 2012

Head over the contest page to see the awesome, shiny badge I won and to check out other contests =).

One Comment

  1. Very cool! Congrats on winning a shiny badge. Shiny badges are awesome. haha. I really like flash-fiction. I signed up to follow Cara’s site, so maybe I’ll be going head to head with you sometime soon. Hopefully I’ll find time to actually write the stories. haha.


Leave a Reply

